Couple of updates

First of all, I don’t know who sent me $100, but thank you so much. I going to try to stretch it as far as possible. For those of you who are not aware of my situation, please check out my donation post: click here.

I decided to do NaNoWriMo this year. I have an idea for the /general/ structure of the book, but specifics like character names aren’t something I’ve got yet.

It’s very loosely based on my experiences of the last ten years or so. Very loosely.

I’m also going to quit Strattera, I’ve decided. I’d like to switch to Adderall XR or Concerta or something else, but the Strattera has to stop. I have to take laxatives on the daily with it or I’m physically incapable of going to the bathroom. And I worry about that and its long-term effects on my GI tract.

There’s (legitimate) worry when it comes to bipolar disorder and amphetamine-based drugs. But especially if I don’t get disability approved, in which case, I’ll have to find some type of work until I physically (as well as mentally, as is the current situation) can’t anymore, I’ll need something that can improve executive functioning.

So it is a situation of balancing the side effects against the benefits. It’s complex. But my heart is in good shape, and other than having bipolar disorder, I’m a decent candidate for the amphetamine-based drugs. It’s worth a try, I think.

I’d have to get patient assistance approved for that, but it seems like that wouldn’t be a problem.

Whenever my financial situation changes, I’d also like to check out omega-3 supplements. Those are supposed to have some potentially favorable effects on depression and possibly ADHD, but the data is mostly anecdotal.

But if my financial situation ever /does/ change, there are quite a few things I need to do. I’m trying to keep an open mind about it, but even though I believe my condition is legitimate grounds for disability benefits being awarded to me, I’d be truly surprised if the ODAR and Social Security see it my way.

That’s why I keep making donation posts. I can’t work, but I have to wait on an official determination about that. I’ve never felt so helpless or more bored in my entire life.

Leave a Reply

